locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 6 from 2018 yr. >

«We Do Not Know the Society We Live in»? Evolution of «Homo Soveticus» into «Homo Economicus» from the Eyes of the Perestroika Leaders

The article analyzes the views of senior management of the USSR about the role of the «human factor» in the context of Gorbachev's «perestroika» of 1985–1991. As the Soviet people perceived leaders of the country, as they represented his attitude to the reforms, the evolution of his consciousness and behavior – these issues raised in the article, has not yet received understanding in historical science. But without answers it is impossible to give an objective assessment of the policy of «perestroika». In the article, based on the analysis of primary sources based on the methodology of content analysis, the study of the repetition of speech practices revealed the importance of «human factor» in the implementation of the Soviet leadership policy of «perestroika». The study of the ideas of the Soviet leaders about the Soviet man allows deeper understanding of the role of the «human factor» in the Russian reforms as a whole.

«The Last Hope of Europe». Russia in German Journalism of the First Quarter of the XIX Century: Literary-Philosophical Discourse

In the first quarter of the 19th century for the first time for all history of interaction between Russia and Europe, Russia’s positive perception began to acquire a mass character in Germany regardless of political preferences of most of Germans. On the basis of the analysis of German artistic and philosophical writings on Russia, an attempt is made to trace how during a period of the sharpest political crisis the process of transformation of the image of Russia in German public opinion from the «Russian threat» complex to the «last hope of Europe» began, laying down trends that were still relevant in subsequent years.

«To Find Out More about Their State of Things». England through Peter the Great`s Eyes

The author of the article continues to investigate the reaction of English political celebrities and public to Peter the Great`s visit to their country. The numerous references to either well-known or little-known facts are accompanied by the implied idea that from a three-century distance these facts might be seen in a different light than that common for many contemporaries and historians. There is, however, a basis for compromise between struggling views of both admirers and detractors of Russian emperor. All of them agree that no matter how cruel or merciful Peter was he deservedly gained his place among the greatest heroes of the world history.

Russian Abroad as a Model of the State Outside the Borders

This article presents a factual analysis of Russian life abroad. It aids to investigate it as a form of a civil society – state with no borders.

Power and Cossacking in the Epoch «Great Reform» Alexandra II (1860–1870s). Historiographic Notes

This paper is devoted to considering the historiography of interaction between the government and the Cossack during the period of «The Great Reforms» (1860–1870) in the reign of Alexander II. The author chooses the point of view which makes it possible to scrutinize the actions of the central authority more closely during analyses of the research literature. However, the chosen approach doesn’t imply overemphasizing the government’s attitude and its influence on the Cossack policy. Despite the exposed restrictive framework, the essential reserve in a historiography reflecting various aspects of interaction of the power and the Cossacks in the 1860-1870th years was found. In article the content of the most important works on stories of the Cossacks of the pre-revolutionary period reveals.

«We Must Break All World Records!» The Role of the Komsomol and his General Secretary A.V.Kosarev in the Organizing and Development of Soviet Sport System in the 1930s

The main objective of this article is to show the role of the communist youth league (Komsomol), and, primarily of his general secretary Alexander Kosarev, in the organizing and development of the Soviet sport system in the 1930s. Special emphasis will be put on the question of motives lying behind the activities of the Komsomol leadership in the spheres of physical culture and sports, on his conflicts with other organizations, involved in these affairs, and on the hopes, the Komsomol leaders associated with their engagement in it.

Russian Immigrant Historians and the Second World War

This article examines the attitude of Russian emigrant historians in the United States to the Second world war and the participation of the USSR in it. This war left no one indifferent neither in Europe nor on other continents. How did they react to her Russian caught in this time far beyond his country and long ago left her? Whether they tried to help the USSR, whether participated in any actions or rejoiced that there was an opportunity at last to overthrow Bolsheviks? The author tries to give answers to these questions in this article.

Intellectuals and the Great Russian Revolution. Reflections on the New Book

The article analyzes a new monograph of Professor Y.V.Aksyutin and associate Professor N.Ye.Gerdt, which is devoted to the attitude of intellectuals to the great Russian revolution. The study is based on sources of personal origin (letters, diaries, memoirs) and periodicals. Reviews of the events are arranged in chronological order, which allowed to show how the attitude of the intelligentsia to what is happening: the overthrow of the monarchy, the Provisional government, the situation on the front, the land question, the October revolution, etc. Described in Detail the daily life of the intelligentsia. The authors concluded that the intelligentsia was the first to resist the Bolsheviks.
keywords: the Great Russian revolution; the intelligentsia; diaries; letters; the Provisional government; the land question; the First world war.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 6 от 2018 г. >

«Мы не знаем общества, в котором живем»? Эволюция «homo soveticus» в «homo economicus» глазами лидеров горбачевской «перестройки»

В статье проанализированы представления высшего руководства СССР о роли «человеческого фактора» в условиях горбачевской «перестройки» 1985–1991 гг. Как воспринимался советский человек лидерами страны, как они представляли его отношение к проводимым реформам, эволюцию его сознания и поведения – эти вопросы, поставленные в статье, еще не получили осмысления в исторической науке. Но без ответов на них невозможно дать объективную оценку политики «перестройки». В статье на основе анализа первоисточников с опорой на методологию контент-анализа, изучения повторяемости речевых практик выявлено значение «человеческого фактора» в осуществлении советским руководством политики «перестройки». Изучение представлений руководителей СССР о советском человеке позволяет глубже осмыслить роль «человеческого фактора» в российских реформах в целом.

«Последняя надежда Европы». Россия в немецкой публицистике первой четверти XIX века: литературно-философский дискурс

В первой четверти XIX в. впервые за всю историю взаимодействия российского государства с Европой его позитивное восприятие начало приобретать в Германии массовый характер вне зависимости от политических пристрастий большинства немцев. На основе анализа немецких сочинений о России художественно-философского характера делается попытка проследить, как в период острейшего политического кризиса начался процесс трансформации образа России в общественном мнении Германии от комплекса «русской угрозы» к «последней надежде Европы», заложив тенденции, которые сохранили свою актуальность в последующие годы.

«Разведать о всяком тамошнем состоянии». Англия глазами Петра I (окончание)

Во второй, заключительной части статьи автор продолжает исследование вопроса о том, как Англия воспринимала Петра I. Вниманию читателя предлагаются некоторые любопытные факты, как хрестоматийные, так и малоизвестные. С расстояния веков на них можно взглянуть с несколько иного ракурса, чем тот, что был привычен для современников и ряда историков. Однако общим знаменателем для противоречивых мнений о Петре остается согласие его поклонников и хулителей в одном: при всех своих внутренних контрастах царь-реформатор занимает видное место в галерее великих героев всемирной истории.

Русское Зарубежье как модель государства вне границ

В статье приводятся факты и предлагается анализ структур и элементов, которые присутствовали в бытии Русского Зарубежья и позволяют рассматривать его в качестве особой формы гражданского общества – «государства вне границ».

Власть и казачество в эпоху «Великих реформ» Александра II (1860–1870-е гг.): историографические заметки

В статье рассматривается историография взаимоотношения власти и казачества в эпоху «Великих реформ» Александра II (1860–1870-е гг.). Для анализа соответствующей исторической литературы в качестве приоритетного автором избран такой угол зрения, при котором акцент смещается в сторону центральной власти. Однако такой подход не предполагает абсолютного доминирования точки зрения центра на казачью политику при ее анализе и описании. Несмотря на выставленные ограничительные рамки, был найден существенный задел в историографии, отражающий различные аспекты взаимодействия власти и казачества в 1860–1870-х годах. В статье раскрывается содержание наиболее важных трудов по истории казачества дореволюционного периода.

«Отвоевать все мировые рекорды!» Роль комсомола и его генерального секретаря А.В.Косарева в становлении и развитии советского спорта в 1930-е гг.

Главная цель данной статьи состоит в том, чтобы осветить роль комcoмола и его генерального секретаря А.В.Косарева в становлении и развитии советского спорта в предвоенное десятилетие. При этом особое внимание будет уделено вопросу о мотивах, побудивших руководство комсомола активно вмешаться в дела физкультуры и спорта, конфликтах с другими организациями и надеждах, связанных с этим шагом.

Русские историки-эмигранты и Вторая мировая война

В статье рассматривается отношение русских историков-эмигрантов в США ко Второй мировой войне и участию в ней СССР. Эта война никого не оставила равнодушным ни в Европе, ни на других континентах. Как же реагировали на нее русские, оказавшиеся в это время далеко за пределами своей родины и давно покинувшие ее? Пытались ли они помочь СССР, участвовали ли в каких-либо акциях или радовались тому, что появилась возможность наконец-то свергнуть большевиков? На эти вопросы автор пытается дать ответы в этой статье.

Интеллектуалы и Великая русская революция. Размышления о новой книге

В статье анализируется новая монография профессора Ю.В.Аксютина и доцента Н.Е.Гердт, которая посвящена отношению интеллигенции к Великой русской революции. Исследование основано на источниках личного происхождения (письмах, дневниках, воспоминаниях) и периодической печати. Отзывы о событиях расположены в хронологической последовательности, что позволило показать, как менялось отношение интеллигенции к происходящему: свержению монархии, Временному правительству, ситуации на фронте, земельному вопросу, Октябрьской революции и т.д. Подробно описана повседневная жизнь интеллигенции. Авторы пришли к выводу, что именно интеллигенция первой оказала сопротивление большевикам.
ключевые слова: Великая русская революция; интеллигенция; дневники; письма; Временное правительство; земельный вопрос; Первая мировая война.