locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 1 from 2015 yr. >

The article is devoted to key problems of the Russian economy at the current stage. The author suggests looking at the Russian economy from a specific sight angle. The foreign policy situation changed seriously during the last year and now it is quite possible to say that the Russian economic machine functions in mobilization regime. Taking this approach the author addresses such painful topics as fall of oil prices, the Russian Federation Central Bank and the government’s policies, interaction of the president and elite, economic amnesty and gas wars. In particular, the author notes: there is a serious risk that the government will go along the most simple and available way, that is it will set about optimization (as it is called now) which practically means drastic reduction of expenses on public health care, education, science, culture, social security. At the same time it should be remembered that the economic life affects all spheres including legislation. It is high time to think about improvement of the constitutional process and a new status of the Central Bank.

Tailor in St. Petersburg – Trendsetter in First Half 19th Century

Today, the profession of a tailor, masters of their craft and artist in one person to become prestigious. But long before this trend existed in St. Petersburg in the first half of the 19th century. How changing social and economic situation tailors in Petersburg for this time? The impact of fashion on the development of Handicrafts? What fashion trends, found its dissemination with the Westernization of Russia after the reforms of Peter the great. Petersburg as a European capital, famous for its luxury, attracted many tailors masters from Europe, which has led to a remarkable symbiosis and the flourishing of the tailor’s craft in the 19th century.

«Lermontov's Great-Uncle»: History of One of the Ancient Artifacts from the Decembrist Myth

During the soviet era it was allowed to include historical figures in the research related to Decembrists. The cultural momentum maintains the use of the «acceptance» in the modern world. Such an inclusion by modern researchers of the D.A.Stolypin, the granduncle of the M.Yu.Lermontov to friends and associates of the P.I.Pestel is very noticeable. On the one hand, this «fact» is gain access to the authoritative biographical reference books; on the other hand, it is based on very dubious sources. In the process of «translation» the original «message» has acquired additional figurative details.

«We, Recognized as Representatives of Russia by the Allies…»: Activities of the Russian non-Bolshevik Diplomacy during the Russian Civil War

The Russian diplomacy refused to collaborate with the Bolshevik power in Petrograd, established an autonomous organization and found ways of its financing. Over the period of all Civil War the agency carefully guarded its image of the all-Russian embassy and cooperated with all anti-Bolshevik forces of Russia.

The Higher Attestation Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles and the Higher Education: Current Debates and their Origins

The author examines historical roots of the current debates around the Higher Attestation Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles (the Russian acronym for it is VAK). Suggestions made by scientists and officials are mainly aimed at decentralization of the Russian system of scientific achievements attestation and at attachment of international character to this system. In fact, these suggestions exclude the necessity to retain the VAK in its present form. However the movement forward in this sphere is impossible without understanding of origins and causes that generated the current crisis of the thesis attestation business in Russia.

On the Pre-History of the Nineteenth Century Caucasian War

Does the Caucasus War belong to the nineteenth century, or, if otherwise, which time could this phenomenon be attributed to? Has this dispute any scholarly importance, or is it just a complex interplay between the nowadays politics and ideology? Is there any methodological sense in retrospective reflections on the alternative routes of Russia-Caucasus history? Let us soberly think over these questions with timid hope to get closer to some feasible solution.

Vassily Shulgin and the «Ukrainian Question»…

V.V.Shul'gin (1878−1976) is a politician and member of the Sate Dumas, a participant of the White movement, prominent publicist of the Russia community abroad. As early as prior the revolution Shul’gin paid attention to a great potential of the Ukrainian nationalism and warned about that. During the Civil war the topic acquired further development in Sul’gin’s articles that are relevant even today.

Mikhail Kol’tsov’s Political Articles Written and Published in 1918–1919 in Kiev: Materials to Bibliography

The article is devoted to the early journalist work of M. E. Kol’tsov who later on was the famous Soviet journalist and one of the Soviet press organizers. Kol’tsov’s little known early article ‘Kings' vengeance' originally published in Kiev newspaper «Free thoughts» in 1918 is reproduced.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 1 от 2015 г. >

Экономический фронт: краткий экскурс

Статья посвящена ключевым проблемам российской экономики на современном этапе. Внешнеполитическая ситуация серьезно изменилась за последний год: впору говорить о том, что машина российской экономики работает в мобилизационном режиме. С этой точки зрения автор обращается к таким болезненным темам, как падение цен на нефть, политика Центробанка и правительства, взаимодействие президента с элитой, экономическая амнистия и газовые войны. Автор, в частности, отмечает: существует серьезный риск того, что правительство пойдет по самому простому и доступному пути, то есть займется оптимизацией, как нынче называется, а на самом деле сокращением расходов на здравоохранение, образование, науку, культуру, социальное обеспечение. Сокращение федерального бюджета не означает отказа от социальных обязательств. В то же время стоит помнить о том, что экономическая жизнь затрагивает все сферы, включая законодательную. Пора серьезно подумать о совершенствовании конституционного процесса и о новом статусе Центробанка.

Петербургский портной – законодатель мод первой половины XIX века

Сегодня профессия портного, кутюрье (фр. couturiere – портниха, от couture – шитьё, сшивание), мастера своего дела и артиста в одном лице, становится престижной. Но уже задолго до этого данный тренд существовал в Петербурге первой половины XIX вв. Как менялось социальное и экономическое положение портных Петербурга этого времени? Какое влияние оказывала мода на развитие ремесла? Какие модные европейские веяния, нашли свое распространение с вестернизацией после петровских реформ? Петербург, как европейская столица, славящаяся своей роскошью, привлекал большое количество портных из Европы, что привело к необычайному симбиозу и расцвету портного ремесла в 19 веке.

«Брат лермонтовской бабушки»: история одного из реликтов декабристского мифа

В советское время указание на связь с декабристами того или иного деятеля прошлого позволяло включить его персоналию в исследовательский процесс. Инерция культуры приводит к использованию этого «приема» в современных условиях. Причисление современными исследователями Д.А.Столыпина – двоюродного деда М.Ю.Лермонтова – к друзьям и единомышленникам П.И.Пестеля особенно примечательно. С одной стороны, этот «факт» вошел в авторитетные биографические справочники. С другой, – он основан на крайне сомнительном источнике. В процессе «трансляции» исходное «сообщение» обросло дополнительными подробностями.

«Мы, признанные союзниками представителями России...» Деятельность русской небольшевистской дипломатии в период гражданской войны (1917 – конец 1920 г.)

Российская дипломатия отказалась от сотрудничества с большевистской властью в Петрограде, создав автономную организацию, самостоятельно найдя пути финансирования своих учреждений. На протяжении всей гражданской войны ведомство тщательно оберегало свой имидж общерусского представительства и сотрудничало со всеми антибольшевистскими силами России.

ВАК и высшее образование: современные споры и их истоки

В статье исследуются исторические корни современных споров вокруг Высшей аттестационной комиссии (ВАК). Высказываемые учеными и чиновниками предложения, в основном направленные на децентрализацию отечественной аттестационной системы и придание ей международного характера, фактически исключают необходимость сохранения ВАК в ее современном виде. Однако дальнейшее движение вперед в этой сфере невозможно без понимания истоков и причин, породивших современный кризис диссертационного дела в России.

К вопросу о предыстории кавказской войны XIX века

Каков контекст и подтекст дискуссии о хронологических рамках Кавказской войны? Носит ли этот спор научно-познавательный характер и в какой степени тут примешана идеология и современные политические реалии? Насколько методологически оправдано ретроспективное «конструирование» альтернативных вариантов развития русско-кавказских отношений в XVIII–XIX веках? К спокойному размышлению над этими вопросами приглашает читателей автор данной статьи.

Василий Шульгин и «украинский вопрос»

В.В.Шульгин (1878–1976) – политический деятель и, депутат Государственных дум, один из участников Белого движения, видный публицист Русского зарубежья. Еще до революции он обратил внимание на мощный потенциал, который содержится в украинском национализме, и предупреждал об этом. Во время Гражданской войны тема получила дальнейшее развитие в публикациях Шульгина, не потерявших своей актуальности и в наше время.

Киевская публицистика Михаила Кольцова 1918–1919 годов: материалы к библиографии

Статья посвящена раннему журналистскому творчеству М.ЕКольцова, – впоследствии знаменитого советского журналиста, одного из организаторов советской печати. Публикуется одна из малоизвестных статей Кольцова, «Месть королей», напечатанная в киевской газете «Свободные мысли» в 1918 году.