locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 6 from 2014 yr. >

Russia in the South Caucasus: Geopolitical Retrospective

The basic problems of Russia’s presence in the South Caucasus through historical and retrospective analysis are identified. The geopolitical component of Russia’s foreign policy toward the region since the ХVII century was shown. The configuration of the main political forces in the South Caucasus was analyzed, Russian nowadays influence in the political and economic processes in the region was estimated. The basic geographic, geo-economic and other benefits of the South Caucasus were shown. In particular the transit potential of the region was assessed. Weaknesses of Russian geopolitics in the South Caucasus direction were identified, some recommendations were made.

On the Common Law of the Ossetians

Interest in the common law of the Ossetians used to be and is still of current interest. Nowadays adats of the Ossetians as well as of other mountainous peoples exist both as an important historical resource and as a practical guidance. The author of the article bases this conclusion not only on studies of published collections of common law documents but also on his own experience gained during the extensive travels in the mountain regions taken by him to understand the reason for these archaic norms to survive through ages.

The Forests of the Volga in the Government Policy in the 18th Century

Volga region woods had strategic meaning for Russian Empire in the 18th century. Its ship groves provided the material for Russian navy. No wonder it was the region where Russian forestry started. Volga region was experienced the most of Peter 1st's restrictions, the hardness of procurement obligations. Forests of Kazan, Nizhni Novgorod, Voronezh provinces were the best known, the best specialists were sent there, the most attention was paid to keep these forests in order.

The Formation of the Image of Petrograd-Leningrad at the Tour Literature of the 1920-s

This article analyzes the 1920s methodological guidelines to conduct tours of Petrograd-Leningrad. Key themes for the formation of the city’s image and the recommendations for sightseeing for the local and visiting tourists are identified. Author concludes that there were four main ideas of the excursion literature for Petrograd-Leningrad in the early Soviet period. Firstly, the City as the center of the revolutionary movement; secondly, historical significance of the former capital was also quite important; thirdly, the city was seen as a center of culture; and finally, Petrograd-Leningrad was presented in textbooks as the economic center of the country, and the large industrial city.

«Heh, Howard…»: Literary Story of Howard Fast’s Severance of Relations with the USSR

Making use of archive documents that previously were classified the author seeks to understand the background of complex conflict emerged in the second half of the 1950s between leaders of the USSR and the Soviet writers' union on one hand and Howard Fast, the prominent American writer, on the other hand. Trying to comprehend why Fast was the most published and the most highly paid foreign writer in the most cruel years of Stalin’s rule and why he, as if suddenly decided to put the end to his relations with the Communism and the USSR (and did that in the scandalous way) in the earlier years of Khrushchev’s liberalization the author presents his own documented version of this contradictory situation that does not lend itself to an univalent assessment.

«Do not be Afraid of any Hardship, Believe in Yourself…»: Economic Adaptation of Russian Emigrants of the «First Wave» in Czechoslovakia…

The newspaper «Nedelja», published in Czechoslovakia in 1929−1930, is an important source of information on the economic adaptation of Russian emigrants in this country. Analysis of the publications of the newspaper allows us to consider the basic directions and ways of organizing economic activity of Russian emigrants in Czechoslovakia, to evaluate the nature and forms of mutual aid, characteristics and extent of their participation in the economy of Czechoslovak Republic and other countries.
The magazine publishes materials of the conference held in October, 2013, at the Department of philology of the Lomonosov Moscow State University. The conference was dedicated to one of the most ancient monuments of the Russian literature, The Primary Chronicle. It is the most ancient code of the Russian history. It contains the most important mythologemes and ideologemes of the East European past. Participants of the conference focused of issues of hermeneutics, the text’s integrity and origins of The Primary Chronicle. The significance of the monument is not limited to narrow professional interests of medievalists. For The Primary Chronicle was intended to provide the answer to the question: «Wherefrom the Russian land has emerged?»

Co-authored with Himself: Two Autobiographies of S.Ya.Alliluev

This article is dedicated to the problem of how intertextual and contextual factors influence an autobiography. The aim of my thesis is analysis of the both S.Y.Alliluev's autobiographies, written in 1922−1923 and 1944−1945. I am trying to show peculiarities of the first text’s influence on the next, differences in systems of argumentation and plots' choice.

Anna Akhmatova under Surveillance of the MGB

In August, 1946, A.A.Zhdanov, the Secretary of the All-Union Communist Party (Bolsheviks) launched the campaign against dissent and nonconformity in the Soviet literature. Zhdanov chose literary magazines «Zvezda» and «Leningrad» as well as M.M.Zoschenko, the writer, and A.A.Akhmatova as and his main targets. Preparing his huge report A.A.Zhdanov used the reference cited below and produced by the Ministry of State Security Department for Leningrad region.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 6 от 2014 г. >

Россия на Южном Кавказе: геополитическая ретроспектива

В статье определены основные проблемы присутствия России на Южном Кавказе посредством исторического и ретроспективного анализа. Выявлена геополитическая составляющая внешней политики России в отношении к региону, начиная с XVII века. Проанализирована конфигурация основных политических сил на Южном Кавказе, а также дана оценка влияния России на политические и экономические процессы в регионе в настоящее время. Показаны основные географические, гео-экономические и другие преимущества Южного Кавказа. В частности, оценен транзитный потенциал региона. Определены слабые стороны российской геополитики в отношении Южного Кавказа, даны некоторые рекомендации.
Интерес к обычному праву осетин был и остается актуальным. В наши дни адаты осетин как и других горских народов сохраняются и как ценный исторический источник, и как практическое руководство. Автор статьи основывается не только на изучении публикаций, касающихся обычного права осетин, но и на собственном опыте, полученном во время обширных поездок по горным регионам, предпринятым им для понимания причин сохранения этих древних норм до наших дней.

Леса Поволжья в правительственной политике XVIII века

Поволжские леса в. XVIII в. имели стратегическое значение для Российской империи. Дубравы края давали стратегический для страны материал – материал для строительства военных кораблей. Неудивительно, что именно здесь происходило становление русского лесного хозяйства. Поволжье в наибольшей степени испытало на себе строгость петровских запретов и тяжесть повинностей по лесозаготовкам. Леса Казанской, Нижегородской, Воронежской губерний лучше других изучались, сюда направлялись лучшие специалисты, большое внимание уделялось содержанию лесов в порядке.

Формирование образа Петрограда-Ленинграда в экскурсионной литературе 1920-х годов

Статья посвящена анализу методических руководств 1920-х годов предназначенных для проведения экскурсий по Петрограду-Ленинграду. В ней выявлены ключевые для формирования образа города экскурсионные темы и рекомендуемые объекты для посещения местными и приезжими экскурсантами. Автор приходит к выводу, что в экскурсионной литературе раннесоветского периода Петроград-Ленинград во-первых, позиционировался как центр революционного движения; во-вторых, важна была историческая значимость бывшей столицы; в-третьих, город рассматривался как культурный центр; и, наконец, Петроград-Ленинград был представлен в пособиях как экономический центр страны, крупный промышленный город.

«Эх, Говард!..»: литературная история разрыва Говарда Фаста с СССР

Используя ранее засекреченные архивные документы, автор стремится разобраться в подноготной сложного конфликта, возникшего во второй половине 1950-х гг. между руководством СССР и Союза советских писателей, с одной стороны, и видным американским писателем Говардом Фастом, – с другой. Пытаясь понять, почему в жесткие сталинские годы последний был в СССР самым издаваемым и высокооплачиваемым иностранным литератором, а в начале хрущевской либерализации как бы вдруг пошел на скандальный разрыв с коммунизмом и Советским Союзом, автор представляет свою основательно документированную версию этой исполненной явного противоречия и не поддающейся однозначной оценке ситуации.

«Не бояться никаких лишений, верить в себя и свою энергию...»: хозяйственная адаптация русских эмигрантов «первой волны» в Чехословакии

Статья посвящена теме, которая не отражена в литературе. Газета «Неделя», издававшаяся в Чехословакии в 1929 – 1930 гг., является важным источником сведений о хозяйственной адаптации русских эмигрантов в этой стране. Анализ публикаций газеты позволяет рассмотреть основные направления и способы организации хозяйственной деятельности русских эмигрантов в ЧСР, оценить характер и формы их взаимопомощи, особенности и масштаб участия в экономике ЧСР и других стран.
В журнале публикуются материалы конференции, состоявшейся в декабре 2013 года на филологическом факультете МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова и посвященной одному из древнейших памятников русской словесности, «Повести временных лет». Перед нами древнейший свод русской истории, памятник, заключающий важнейшие мифологемы и идеологемы восточнославянского прошлого. Участники конференции сосредоточились на проблемах герменевтики, целостности текста и происхождении «Повести временных лет», значение которой не ограничивается по-прежнему узкими профессиональными интересами медиевистов. Ведь «Повесть временных лет» была призвана ответит на вопрос: «Откуда пошла есть Русская земля?»

В соавторстве с самим собой: две автобиографии С.Я.Аллилуева

Данная статья посвящена проблеме влияния интертекстуальных и контекстуальных факторов на создание автобиографии. Целью моей работы является анализ двух автобиографий С.Я.Аллилуева, написанных в 1922–1923 и 1944–1945 гг. Я пытаюсь показать, каким образом первая автобиография влияет на написание второй, как меняются системы аргументации и выбор сюжетов.

Анна Ахматова под надзором МГБ

В августе 1946 года секретарь ЦК ВКПб А.А.Жданов провел идеологическую кампанию против инакомыслия в культуре. Своими основными мишенями он избрал литературные журналы «Звезда» и «Ленинград», а также писателя М.М.Зощенко и поэта А.А.Ахматову. При подготовке огромного доклада А.А.Жданов использовал публикуемую ниже справку об А.А.Ахматовой, составленную управлением МГБ по Ленинградской области.