locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 1 from 2013 yr. >

Communism: a Glance from Russia and the USA. Interview Given to Tim Kirby

The subjects discussed with Sergey Kurginyan are the spiritual component of the contemporary world, confrontation of the Modern project with the counter-Modern, destiny of the Communist paradigm in new historical context, opportunities of spiritual collaboration on the platform of the great battle for the Human because only the Human is the real driver of the historical process while all material factors are of secondary importance and value relative to the Human. If fact, the great battle for the Human becomes the current big politics' real background.
The article focuses on peculiarities of present-day positions of CIS countries and Georgia in the geoeconomic pattern of the world. An explanation for causes of some significant differences between results of international economic comparisons (including the latest ones) is given. Data which characterize multivariant estimates of the levels of economic development of various countries are provided. Particular attention is drawn to the values of per capita GDP of Russia, Central Asian and South Caucasian states, provided by such international organizations as the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania and the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. The authors emphasize the fact the differences between the estimates of per capita GDP (and, consequently, between the levels of economic development) of some countries reach 30−50−70%, and in some cases even two or more times. Based on the totals of international comparisons, the authors show how the balance between economic development of Russia and the United States (as well as between Russia and the world’s per capita GDP average) changed from the beginning of XX century to early 2000's.

Folklore Versions of the «State Building»: Legends of the Power Making

The author investigates motives related to making of the state and state power as these motives were presented in the Slavic folklore legends and oral narratives. In the popular narrative tradition these motives are inseparably connected with the motive of faith choice. This motive is present in folklore legends of different chronological periods. Reflecting the plot borrowed form medieval literature sources the popular narratives emphasize the inseparable connection between choice of «right» faith with accession of the «right» potentate to power and consolidation of his power. In greater part of these cases such texts are results of literature sources adaptation for folklore, of textbooks, popular books and local studies retelling. Nevertheless such adaptations become assets of a local «oral history» and are transferred to «local legends» codes.

Conceptual Structure of Holyday: from the 19th Century Russian Culture to the Early Soviet One

The paper addresses the problem of evolution of the holyday’s conceptual structure from the19th Russian culture to the Soviet culture of the 1920−1930th. The author describes the two basic models representing the «ideal type» of holyday, and reveals how this models correlate in the late Russian and the early Soviet culture. The main methodological result of the paper can be characterized as the bringing out the way to map the late Russian culture onto the early Soviet one, given the concept of holyday as example.

«Russia Declared War on Japan — It’s All»: U.S. Provincial Press in August 1945

In article of an estimation of U.S. press of Soviet announcement of war against Japan are analyzed. Specificity this opinions is revealed. Sources of formation of opinions and estimations are considered, for the first time in historiography. A comparison of press concerning the progress and character of Soviet offensive. Analyzed in the article the evolution of the role of the press estimates of the USSR in the Pacific war from positive 8 August, up sharply negative August 15, 1945 with the informational processes that influenced the change in public opinion about the Soviet Union.

History of the Russian Mlitary Education in the Early 19th Century Revisited: К.Th.Ryleev’s School Years in the First Cadet Corps

The article deals with history of military education in the early 19th century Russia and, in the first place, with the history of the First cadet corps. The author focuses her attention on the period when K.Th.Ryleev, famous Russian poet attended the corps. The system of military and other disciplines learning that was introduced in the corps and morals that prevailed in the corps are studied. The mentioned features emerged, in many respects, due to personal traits of tutors who undoubtedly had an influence on their students. Besides that, the author investigates the corps' department for minors where Ryleev also spent several years and attempts to define the circle of cadet friends of the future revolutionary and analyze his first verses written in the cadet corps.

How about not Repealing the Law on Jews, but Simply not Applying it?» Leonid Brezhnev, Dйtente and Jewish Emigration from the USSR

The article describes the history of Jewish emigration from the Soviet Union in the first half of the 1970s. The desire of the Soviet leadership to limit the opportunities for emigration, especially for those people who got higher education, led to a confrontation with the USA. On the basis of archival documents, including the notes from the L.I.Brezhnev's personal diary, we can examine the pragmatic policy of the General Secretary of the CPSU which was aimed at continuing the «détente», taking into consideration the «Jewish question».

«…This Glorious Year Has Passed»: On the Patriotic War of 1812 Jubilee

The 200th anniversary of Russia’s victory in the Patriotic War of 1912 was celebrated at the state level. Preparations and conducting of the jubilee included various events. Numerous exhibitions, conferences, scientific proceedings devoted to the glorious date were held in the course of several years. With no pretension to analytical nature of her remarks the author characterizes the content and geographical scope of celebrations on the basis of published special literature, media materials and information distributed in the Web.
The article reflects the outbreak of indignation provoked by the Public Health department’s irresponsible decision to disestablish the oldest Moscow psychoneurological dispensary № 21 which is famous with its humanistic traditions and high level of its staff qualification. The decision in question was made without consent of numerous patients and well-knit medical staff whose activities are aimed at meeting needs of persons with psychic deviations. Arbitrariness of the Public Health department officials violates the basic principles of dispensary medical care, i.e. its decentralization and accessibility for population. The Public Health department’s decision was made secretly and in contempt of patient interests. According to the author, the decision is determined by a desire to use the plot occupied with the dispensary in the downtown in commercial purposes.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 1 от 2013 г. >

Коммунизм – взгляд из России и США. По материалам беседы с Тимом Кирби

В интервью Сергея Кургиняна предметом обсуждения являются духовная составляющая современного мира, проблемы противостояния проекта Модерн и контрмодерна, судьба коммунистической парадигмы в новых условиях, возможности духовного сотрудничества людей на платформе великой битвы за Человека, ибо только Человек является реальным двигателем исторического процесса, а любые материальные факторы – лишь вторичны по отношению к нему. По сути великая война за Человека становится подлинной подоплекой современной большой политики.

Содружество независимых государств в окружающем мире

В статье рассматриваются особенности положения стран СНГ и Грузии в современной геоэкономической картине мира. Даётся объяснение причин возникновения серьезных различий некоторых, в том числе новейших, результатов международных экономических сопоставлений. Приводятся материалы, характеризующие проблему многовариантности оценок уровней экономического развития различных государств. Особое внимание обращается на подушевые показатели ВВП России, стран Центральной Азии и Южного Кавказа, рассчитанные такими известными международными организациями как Всемирный банк, Международный валютный фонд, а также Центр международных сопоставлений Пенсильванского университета и Центральное разведывательное управление США. Авторы подчёркивают тот факт, что различия в оценках подушевых ВВП (а, следовательно, и уровнях экономического развития) некоторых стран достигают 30-50-70%, а в отдельных случаях двух и более раз. Опираясь на итоговые данные международных сопоставлений, авторы показывают, как изменилось соотношение уровней экономического развития России и США (а также России и среднемировых показателей) за период с начала XX до начала XXI вв.

Фольклорные версии «государственного строительства»: легенды о становлении власти

В статье на материале славянских фольклорных легенд и устных рассказов XIX–XXI вв. рассматриваются мотивы, связанные с идеей становления государства и власти. В народной повествовательной традиции эти мотивы неразрывно связаны с мотивом выбора веры, представленным в фольклорных легендах разных хронологических периодов. Отражая сюжеты средневековых книжных источников, народные рассказы ставят акцент на неразрывной связи выбора «правильной» веры с воцарением «правильного» властителя и утверждением его власти. В большинстве случаев подобные тексты являются результатом адаптации книжных источников в фольклоре, пересказом учебных пособий, популярной литературы, краеведческого творчества. Тем не менее, они становятся достоянием местной «устной истории» и переходят в корпус «местных легенд».

Концептуальная структура праздника: от русской культуры XIX века к ранней советской культуре

В статье обсуждается вопрос об эволюции концептуальной структуры праздника от русской культуры XIX века к советской культуре 20-х–30-х гг. В ней описаны две базовые модели, составляющие “идеальный тип” праздника, а также показано, как эти модели сосуществуют в русской и советской культуре указанного периода. Важный методологический результат статьи состоит в описании на материале праздника одной из моделей трансляции концептуальных структур русской культуры в раннюю советскую культуру.

«Россия объявила войну Японии – это всё». Американская провинциальная пресса в августе 1945 г.

В статье проанализированы оценки прессой США объявления войны СССР против Японии. Рассмотрена специфика их мнений и выявлены источники формирования взглядов, проанализированы материалы не только крупных периодических изданий, но и газет малых и средних городов США, которые формировали общественное мнение в американской глубинке. Проведено сравнение материалов американских газет, о ходе и характере советского наступления. Показана эволюция оценок прессы о роли СССР в Тихоокеанской войне: от положительной 8 августа, до резко отрицательной 15 августа 1945 г. Установлены информационные процессы, повлиявшие на изменение общественного мнения о Советском Союзе.

К истории военного образования в России в начале XIX века: К.Ф.Рылеев в 1-м кадетском корпусе

В статье речь идет об истории военного образования в России начала XIX в., и прежде всего об истории 1-го Кадетского корпуса. В центре внимания авторов - время пребывания в корпусе знаменитого русского поэта К.Ф. Рылеева. Рассматривается корпусная система обучения военным и другим «наукам», корпусные нравы. Все это складывалось во многом благодаря личным качествам преподавателей, которые оказывали на своих подопечных несомненное влияние. Кроме того, речь идет о малолетнем отделении корпуса, в котором Рылееву тоже довелось прожить несколько лет. Делается попытка установить круг кадетских друзей будущего революционера, проанализировать его первые кадетские стихи.

«Как бы указ о евреях не отменять, а де фактом не применять». Л.И. Брежнев, разрядка и еврейская эмиграция из СССР

Статья посвящена истории эмиграции евреев из СССР в первой половине 1970-х годов. Стремление советского руководства ужесточить условия выезда, в первую очередь для лиц с высшим образованием, привело к конфронтации с США. На основании архивных документов, в том числе записей из личного дневника Л.И.Брежнева, исследуется прагматичная политика генерального секретаря ЦК КПСС в сфере «еврейского вопроса», направленная на сохранение «разрядки».

«Славный год сей минул». О юбилее Отечественной войны 1812 года

200-летие победы России в Отечественной войне 1812 отмечалось на государственном уровне. Подготовка и проведение юбилея включили разнообразные мероприятия. В течение ряда лет славной дате посвящались многочисленные выставки, конференции, научные труды, экскурсии. Не претендуя на аналитический характер заметок, автор дает характеристику содержанию и географии торжеств на основании опубликованной специальной литературы, материалов СМИ, информации интернета.
Статья отражает возмущение безответственным решением Департамента здравоохранения г. Москвы о расформировании старейшего психоневрологического диспансера №21, известного своими гуманистическими традициями и высоким профессионализмом сотрудников, которое проводится без согласия многочисленных пациентов и сплоченного медицинского коллектива, деятельность которого ориентирована на нужды и потребности лиц с психическими расстройствами. Самоуправство медицинских чиновников департамента здравоохранения нарушает основные принципы амбулаторной медицинской помощи – децентрализации и приближения к населению. Принятое втайне, вопреки интересам больных, решение департамента, по мнению автора статьи, мотивировано желанием использовать занимаемый диспансером в центре города земельный участок в коммерческих целях.