locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 5 from 2012 yr. >

Who will Fix the Situation? On the Eve of the Civilizational Disaster

The author deals with the extremely difficult situation that has emerged in the contemporary Russian domestic policy. Nonfeasance of authorities and intelligentsia, growth of protest moods and spirits, religious extremism that lifts its head up, revitalization of inland subversive forces — all that create pre-conditions for collapse of the Russian Federation. The danger is quite real. In this moment one has to understand what forces it is necessary to rely on in order to save the country that is sliding to the social and economic abyss. The role of the national intelligentsia is as great as it had never been earlier because intelligentsia has to turn the protest in a positive direction and to prevent the ultimate disaster.

Education in the Present Day Russia: Ascending the Descending Stairway? (Traits to the Portrait of our Reforms)

The article deals with strategies of the Russian education. The focus is made on these strategies adequacy to the real challenges Russia confronts now. The inevitable multiple and relative character of crises in education in the environment of the present day dynamics of social history is emphasized. The author concludes that prevailing in Russia nowadays strategies of education development are haphazard, non-systemic and that ideas and practices of the 1990s radical Liberalism dominate in these strategies due to the inertia. The issue of necessity to correct strategies of the Russian Federation education development, with real peculiarities of the current stage of the Russian civilization transformation including acute demand to formation of the Russian national identity taken into due account.

«Phantoms» and ««Illusiones»: Devil’s Delusions in Texts and Iconography (the end)

In the second part of the article the authors continue to explore the functions the concept of devilish illusions played in the Eastern Orthodox and Western Catholic religious imagaries. They analyze the methods the Medieval artists used to visualise the demonic transformations and explore the inevitable gap between the textual and visual narrative strategies.

«Socialism» American Style. On the Creation of the Tennessee Valley Authority

Based on rich material the article is the first comprehensive history of the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) written by the Russian historian. It is a telling case study of the TVA creation in 1933 and its organizational evolution from the New Deal years to the final stage of the World War II. The author traces the central issue of the New Deal’s most dramatic project aimed to expand the governmental control over the economy and natural resources through public power, regional planning and new intellectual ideas for the transformation the New South area. President Roosevelt and the leading personalities in the board of directors of TVA (and among them David E. Lilienthal) had four principal goals. The first was to provide cheap electricity to homes and farms. The second was to provide jobs for unemployed. The third was to save from devastation the large territory of the depressed region in the South. And there was a fourth more ephemeral goal: that through public power, governmental ownership of some other services and publicly-owned distributorship could be created a model for a new and more prosperous form of society. Some contemporaries deeply believed that TVA was a big step to American sort of socialism.

The Fatherland’s Sons: On Shaping of the Decembrist Ideology

The article is devoted to study of social and political views common to members of the Russian officers corpus. Officers' attitude toward the Emperor and peasants is investigated on the basis of the Fatherland and the Fatherland’s son notions semantics analysis. Change of these views in the post-war period (1814−1825) is traced. It is demonstrated that under the impact of wars waged in 1812−1814 this postulate transformed: the Emperor quitted to be associated with a son of the Fatherland while, on the contrary, officers started to perceive peasants as sons of the Fatherland. It is this transformation where origins of the Decembrist ideology are discovered.

Images of the French Revolution in the 19th Century Russian Social and Political Thought

There are many testimonies that allow us to speak of emotional and deep perception of the French revolution events by several generations of Russian people. Values, system of images and symbols begot by the French revolution served as a «guide» of a kind to the future that dazzled and at the same time scared. Having put a clear-cut line between conservatives and radicals discussions on the optimal way of the West European norms adoption brought about formation of the «Russian idea» and contention that Russia needed a peculiar civilization. One line expressed itself in the Orthodox and monarchic ideal where the Enlightenment principles were connected with motives of national identity (formula «Liberty, Equality, Brotherhood» was replaced with triad «Orthodoxy, Autocracy, national authenticity»). The other line was an alloy of the European Socialism and ideals of communality that were focused on the ancient communal way of life. The intelligentsia associated the way to the bright future with results of its own activity. The Russian people just had to accept the results of choice made by the intelligentsia.

Origination of Double Standards in the Soviet Ideology

While Stalin was alive only he could be equal to the truth and only he could know the truth. Upon his death an ideological corporation emerged and this corporation took it upon itself to exercise control over the truth. Yet every functionary authorized to trace congruence of «practice» and «theory» knew that his functions of control were limited. The ideological apparatus of the Party inherited monopoly rights to the truth as a corporate heir. It was precisely the corporation which started to claim to the knowledge belonged to the caste. This knowledge released «the elected few» of unnecessary formalities. Answers to citizens concocted at the «Kommunist» journal were not different from answers produced under Stalin. However discussions within the editorial board (minutes started to be composed since January, 1954) are characterized by an important distinction: name of Stalin was nearly absent in these discussions. N.S.Khruschev in his report to the CPSU 20th Congress uncovered the terrible truth about the cult of Stalin’s personality to the communists yet still clung to the deep-seated double standards: his report was a «secret» one and its content was meant for «our crowd».

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 5 от 2012 г. >

Кто будет исправлять ситуацию? Накануне цивилизационной катастрофы

В статье рассматривается чрезвычайно сложная внутриполитическая ситуация, сложившаяся в современной России. Бездействие власти и интеллигенции, рост протестных настроений, поднимающий голову религиозный экстремизм, активизация подрывных сил внутри страны – все это создает предпосылки развала РФ. Опасность реальна. В этот момент следует понимать, на какие силы нужно опираться, чтобы спасти страну, скатывающуюся в социальную и экономическую пропасть. Как никогда велика роль национальной интеллигенции, которая должна повернуть протест в позитивном направлении, предотвращая окончательную катастрофу.

Образование в современной России – вверх по лестнице, ведущей… вниз (штрихи к портрету наших реформ)

В статье анализируются стратегии отечественного образования в плане их адекватности реальным вызовам, перед которыми ныне стоит Россия. При этом подчеркивается неизбежно множественный и относительный характер кризисов в образовании в условиях современной динамики социальной истории. Делается вывод о бессистемности ныне бытующих в нашей стране стратегий развития образования и инерционном доминировании в них идей и практик радикального либерализма от 90-х годов. Ставится вопрос о необходимости корректировки стратегий развития образования в Российской Федерации - с учетом реальных особенностей современного этапа российской цивилизационной трансформации, в том числе остроты запроса на формирование российской национальной идентичности.

«Мечтания» и «illusions». Дьявольские наваждения между книжностью и иконографией (окончание)

Во второй части статьи авторы продолжают сравнивать роль, которую концепт дьявольских наваждений играл в религиозном воображаемом христианского Запада и Востока. Они рассматривают приемы, которые средневековые мастера использовали для визуализации превращений дьявола, и анализируют логику «перевода» текста в изображение, который неизбежно подразумевает «зазор» между двумя семиотическими системами.

«Социализм» по-американски. К истории создания администрации долины реки Теннесси

Построенная на широком материале статья является первым научным исследованием истории Администрации долины реки Теннесси (TVA), проделанным российским историком. Это серьезное повествование о создании в 1933 г. одного из ведущих проектов «нового курса» и его эволюции вплоть до окончания Второй мировой войны. Автор прослеживает судьбу важнейшего направления в деятельности TVA, целью которого было расширение правительственного контроля над экономикой и естественными ресурсами страны путем передачи в общественную собственность построенных государственной корпорацией гидроузлов, регионального планирования и просветительской деятельности, содействующей распространению взаимопомощи и коллективизма. Президент Рузвельт и ведущие лица в директорате TVA (и прежде всего Дэвид Лилиенталь) преследовали следующие главные цели. Первая – снабдить дешевым электричеством потребителя, жителей городов и фермеров. Вторая – обеспечить работой на объектах TVA безработных. Третья – спасти от полного экономического краха огромную территорию на юге США. И четвертая, – опираясь на общественную собственность на энергоресурсы и распределительные сети, создать модель нового процветающего общества. Многие американцы, пережившие тяжелые годы Великой депрессии, искренне верили, что, достигнув этих целей, Америка сделает важный шаг к социализму американского образца.

Сыны отечества: к вопросу о формировании декабристской идеологии

Работа посвящена изучению социально-политических взглядов русского офицерства 1812–1814 гг. На основании анализа семантики понятий отечество и сын отечества (патриот) рассмотрено отношение офицеров к императору и крестьянам. Прослежено изменение этих взглядов в послевоенный период (1814–1825 гг.). Первоначально в понятие сын отечества офицеры включали только дворян и императора. Под влиянием войн 1812–1814 гг. эта установка трансформируется: император перестает ассоциироваться с сыном отечества, а крестьяне, напротив, начинают восприниматься офицерством как сыны отечества. В этой трансформации мы усматриваем исходные моменты формирования декабристской идеологии.

Образы французской революции в общественной мысли России XIX века

Сохранилось немало свидетельств, позволяющих говорить об эмоциональном и глубоком восприятии поколениями русских людей событий Французской революции. Ее ценностные понятия, образно-символический строй служили своего рода «путеводителем» в будущее, которое завораживало и отпугивало одновременно. Четко размежевав консерваторов и радикалов, дискуссии об оптимальном пути приобщения к западноевропейским нормам привели во второй половине XIX в. к формированию «русской идеи» и утверждению необходимости особой цивилизации для России. Первая линия выражала себя православно-монархическим идеалом, в котором просветительские принципы соединялись с мотивами национальной идентичности (замещение формулы «свобода – равенство – братство» триадой «православие – самодержавие – народность»). Вторая – представляла сплав европейского социализма с идеалами общинности, причем имелся в виду общинно-патриархальный уклад деревни. Путь к светлому будущему интеллигенция связывала со своей деятельностью, русскому народу оставалось лишь принять результат выбора.

Рождение двойных стандартов в советской идеологии

При жизни Сталина только он и мог быть равным истине, только он и мог знать ее. После его смерти возникла идеологическая корпорация, которая взяла на себя функцию контроля за истиной, но каждый функционер, допущенный до отслеживания соответствий «практики» и «теории», знал, что его контролирующие функции ограничены. Идеологический аппарат партии унаследовал монопольные права на истину как корпоративный наследник. Именно корпорация стала претендовать на кастовое знание, которое освобождало их, «избранных людей», от ненужных формальностей. Ответы гражданам, которые составлялись в журнале «Коммунист» почти ничем не отличались от подобных же при жизни Сталина, зато обсуждения внутри редколлегии журнала (протоколы стали составляться с января 1954 г.) разительно отличались тем, что в них имя Сталина почти полностью отсутствовало. Н.С.Хрущев в своем докладе на XX съезде КПСС обнажил страшную правду о культе личности Сталина перед коммунистами, но остался верен укоренившимся двойным стандартам: его доклад был «секретным» — а содержание для «своих». И хотя нельзя было удержать этот мощный поток освобожденного сознания, прежний способ идеологической власти над обществом не подвергался сомнению.