locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 4 from 2010 yr. >

The interview is devoted to a wide range of the present day geopolitical problems that bear relation to domestic situation in Russia (accident at the Raspadskaya coal mine) as well as the sphere of Russia’s interaction with its nearest and «far away» neighbors. Situation in Kyrghyzia, interaction of Ukraine and Russia and issues of struggle against drug traffic and terrorism also become the subject of expert analysis. All these omens of our uneasy time are evidence of fragility and, sometimes, illusionary stability in the world might be. An indirect threat hides behind every event. And any explosion understood literally or as a metaphor may have unpredictable consequences. The correct political analysis serves as a reliable bearing for those who have to take balanced and efficient decisions in the contemporary circumstances.

The Fringe but not the Periphery. Stability of the International System

At the end of XVIII century England had acquired the colonies Canada, Australia, New Zealand. At the end of XIX century the countries became the settler’s colonies, passed wonderful evolution, transformed in the agrarian-industrial dominions, laboratories of social and political experiments. At the end of XX century the countries continued their evolutionary way, kept and developed all achievements. Today they are the great food states, large producers of raw materials, energy resources, high technology goods. In the contemporary international system these middle states are not leaders, but on the cause of the high level of development they played important stabilizing role.

The Post is Surrendered. The DDR’s Last Year. Extracts from Diaries of the Advisor-envoy of the USSR Embassy in Berlin (the continuation)

The crisis in the GDR had it own logic. After the opening of the Berlin Wall, the demand of the marchers to democratise the political life of the Republic were gradually replaced with the appeals to unite with FRG. The GDR population had an opportunity to see the living standards of West Germans, which were among the highest in the world, and they hoped that after joining the Deutsch Mark zone they would also be living like that. The issue of preserving the GDR independence was soon replaced with the terms of its surrender. Few were those who took the trouble to think of what would ultimately become of social safety nets, of an exemplary system of education, effective measures of support to families and mothers, and other achievements that GDR and its citizens were rightfully proud of.

1944–1945: The Red Army in East Europe (the end)

The second part of the article deals with attitude of populations of Roumania, Hungary and Trans-Carpathian region to the Red Army which entered these territories in 1944−1945. The author uses materials from the Russian archives, published documents and literature and describes difficulties of the subject investigation and necessity of specific historic investigation of Russophilia and Russophobia phenomena as well as the present day countries' and regions' attitude to the fact of their liberation by the Red Army. The author adduces materials concerning condition of the Soviet servicemen’s graves in Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Serbia, Bulgaria, Hungary and Roumania and on ways the West celebrates May 8−9, the day of victory over the Nazi Germany.

«Semigodness of Tver»: Grand Duchess Ekaterina as Leader of Conservative National-Aristocratic «Party»

Grand Duchess Сatherine (1788−1819), «Semigodness of Tver», the sister of Alexander I, played an outstanding role in the process of genesis of Russian conservatism as a political trend. She initiated a creation of Manifesto of Russian conservative thought — «The Memoir on Ancient and Modern Russia» by N.M.Karamzin. She proposed the leader of Russian conservative «Russian party» F.V.Rostopchin as a «dictator» of Moscow on the eve of the Patriotic war of 1812. Grand Duchess consequently fought against official liberalism of Alexander I. She was one of the personalities who managed to resign M.M.Speransky — the most important politician of official liberalism of that period.

Images of «National Heroes» of the War 1853–1856 in Cultural Memory

Despite the frustration the Crimean War caused its contemporaries, it did not become a forgotten war. On the contrary it inspired the creation of some of the Russian people’s most important patriotic symbols. From feelings of euphoria and expectations for victory after the Russian forces' initial success, the patriotic sentiments of early days of the war developed into a sense of mournful pride at the beginning of the twentieth century. It became increasingly important to remember the military and physical defeat, but not the moral one. This article shows the influence of the heroic tradition of past wars, in particular, the campaign of 1812 against Napoleon I, on the evolution of the memory of the Crimean War. This tradition gave the memory of the Crimean War its peculiar form; it also softened the image of the traumatic past by minimalizing the tragic nature of the war and increasingly emphasizing the heroic deeds of Russian soldiers. This article discusses the images of characters «from the people» formed in the narrative and included in the original pantheon of the war’s heroes in Crimea. The images were supposed to emphasize the popular character of the war, with much space being devoted to heroism, sacrifice, and moral superiority over the enemy. These characters change into the symbols that form part of the Sevastopol myth.

Babel’ and Voroshilov. Voroshilov’s Report to the Central Committee of RCP(b)

Present work is the first publication of the report on «Red Cavalry» by I.E.Babel’ from the archive of K.E.Voroshilov. It establishes the fact that the report written by the writer A.I.Tarasov-Rodionov had to become a culmination point of the annihilating campaign aimed at Babel and A.K.Voronsky, the editor-in-chief of the magazine «Krasnaya Nov». The publication allows readers to understand better the backstage literary life of the 1920s, and at the same time to follow the changes in the Bolshevick party policy towards the «poputchiki» in literature.

The British Spy’s Girl-friend

M.P.Golikova, a daughter of a peasant from Astrakhan region who had a large offspring, was a nurse in the N.V.Sklifosovski's Institute. From 1934 she was the permanent instrument nurse and the secretary of the famous surgeon the Academician S.S.Yudin. At dawn of December 23, 1948, Golikova was apprehended as a person involved in Yudin’s case (Yudin was denounced as the British spy). Golikova was forced to provide fictitious testimony against the Academician and 10 months later she was sentenced to 8 year imprisonment in the USSR Ministry of Interior Special regime camp. In spring of 1952, upon her denial of some evidence given earlier her sentence was reduced to 5 years and in May of 1953 she was released due to the amnesty. 4 years later all accusations against her were abrogated and she was exonerated. Yudin himself was exonerated in August, 1953. 10 months later he died of a heart disease. Having lost the most close to her heart man Golikova dedicated the rest of her life to preservation of Yudin’s archive and to publication of his works. For the first time in the history of Soviet medical science an editor-compiler of the Academician’s works was not a prominent professor but an unknown medical nurse.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 4 от 2010 г. >

Интервью посвящено широкому кругу современных геополитических проблем, затрагивающих как внутреннюю российскую ситуацию (катастрофа на шахте Распадской), так и область взаимодействия России с ближайшими и «дальними» соседями. Предметом экспертного анализа становятся и ситуация в Киргизии, и российско-украинское взаимодействие, и проблемы борьбы с терроризмом и наркоторговлей. Все эти приметы нашего неспокойного времени свидетельствуют о том, какой хрупкой и подчас иллюзорной может быть стабильность в мире. За каждым событием сегодняшнего дня скрывается опосредованная угроза. И любой взрыв, понимаемый буквально или метафорически, может иметь непредсказуемые последствия. Корректная политическая аналитика служит в данном случае надежным ориентиром для тех, кто должен принимать в современных условиях взвешенные и эффективные решения.

Окраина, но не периферия. Стабильность международной системы

К концу ХVIII в. Англия приобрела в качестве колоний Канаду, Австралию, Новую Зеландию. К концу ХIХ в. страны, став переселенческими колониями, прошли удивительную эволюцию, превратившись в аграрно-индустриальные доминионы, полигоны социального и политического экспериментаторства. К концу ХХ в. страны продолжили свой эволюционный путь, сохранили и развили все достижения. Сегодня они – великие продовольственные державы, крупнейшие производители сырья, энергоресурсов, а также наукоемких, высокотехнологичных товаров. В современной мировой системе эти срединные державы не являются лидерами, но за счет высокого уровня развития играют важную стабилизирующую роль.

Пост сдан. Последний год ГДР. Из дневниковых записей советника-посланника посольства СССР в Берлине (продолжение)

У кризиса ГДР была своя внутренняя логика. После открытия Берлинской стены требования демонстрантов о демократизации политической жизни республики все чаще сменялись призывами к объединению с ФРГ. Население ГДР получило возможность ознакомиться с уровнем жизни западных немцев, одним из самых высоких в мире, и надеялось, что в случае вступления в зону марки ФРГ оно станет жить так же. Вместо вопроса о сохранении самостоятельности ГДР на повестку дня встал вопрос об условиях отказа от нее. Мало кто задумывался о том, что же в конечном счете останется от социальных гарантий, образцовой системы образования, эффективных мер поддержки семьи и материнства, а также других достижений, которыми по праву гордились ГДР и ее граждане.

1944–1945 годы: Красная Армия в Восточной Европе (окончание)

Во второй части статьи рассмотрен вопрос об отношении населения Румынии, Венгрии и Закарпатья (Подкарпатской Руси) к Красной Армии, вступившей на их территорию в 1944–1945 гг. Использованы материалы российских архивов, опубликованные документы и существующая литература. Говорится о трудностях изучения вопроса, о необходимости конкретно-исторического кого исследования феноменов русофильства и русофобии, о сегодняшнем отношении в странах и регионах к факту освобождения их Красной Армией. Приводится материал о состоянии захоронений советских воинов в Польше, Чехии, Словакии, Сербии, Болгарии, Венгрии, Румынии, о том, как отмечается на Западе 8–9 мая, день победы над гитлеровской Германией.

«Тверская полубогиня»: великая княгиня Екатерина Павловна – лидер консервативной национально-аристократической «партии»

Великая княгиня Екатерина Павловна (1788-1819), «тверская полубогиня», родная сестра Александра I, сыграла исключительную роль в становлении русского консерватизма как политического течения. Она явилась инициатором создания манифеста русской консервативной мысли – записки Н.М.Карамзина «О древней и новой России», выдвинула на пост «диктатора» Москвы в канун 1812 г. лидера консервативной «русской партии» Ф.В.Ростопчина. Великая княгиня последовательно и целенаправленно боролась с правительственным либерализмом своего венценосного брата и была одним из тех политиков, кто смог добиться опалы самого видного деятеля правительственного либерализма той эпохи – М.М.Сперанского.

Образы «народных героев» войны 1853–1856 гг. в культурной памяти

Война 1853–1856 гг., несмотря на разочарование, которое она вызвала у современников, впоследствии не стала забытой и превратилась в один из важнейших героических и народно-патриотических символов. Эйфория первых успехов, ожидания несомненной будущей победы, патриотический подъем начального периода войны трансформировались в чувство скорбной гордости к началу XX века. Подчеркивалось, что поражение было не моральным, а военным, «физическим». В статье показано влияние героической традиции прошлых войн, в частности кампании 1812 года против Наполеона I, на эволюцию памяти о Крымской войне. Эта традиция задавала своеобразные рамки существованию памяти и способствовала сглаживанию образа травматического прошлого благодаря постепенному стиранию трагической памяти и дополнению её героической. В статье рассматриваются образы персонажей из народа, сложившиеся в нарративах и вошедшие в своеобразный Пантеон героев войны в Крыму. Образы должны были подчеркивать народный характер войны, где огромное место отведено подвигу, жертвенности, моральному превосходству над противником. Сами герои превратились в символы и стали частью севастопольского мифа.

И.Э.Бабель и К.Е.Ворошилов. Доклад К.Е.Ворошилова в ЦК РКП(б)

Впервые публикуется доклад из архива К.Е.Ворошилова, посвященный «Конармии» И.Э.Бабеля. Установлено, что этот доклад, написанный писателем А.И.Тарасовым-Родионовым, должен был стать кульминационной частью разгромной кампании против Бабеля и главного редактора журнала «Красная новь» А.К.Воронского. Его публикация позволяет представить закулисную сторону литературной жизни 1920-х годов и вместе с тем увидеть, как менялась политика партии по отношению к литературным «попутчикам».
Дочь многодетного крестьянина из Астраханской губернии М.П.Голикова всю жизнь проработала медицинской сестрой в Институте имени Н.В.Склифосовского. С 1934 года она была постоянной операционной сестрой и секретарем знаменитого хирурга академика С.С.Юдина. На рассвете 23 декабря 1948 года Голикову арестовали по делу Юдина, объявленного английским шпионом, вынудили ее дать вымышленные показания против академика, а через 10 месяцев приговорили к 8-летнему заключению в Особом лагере МВД СССР. Весной 1952 года после ее отказа от ряда прежних показаний Голиковой снизили срок «наказания» до 5 лет, в мае 1953 года – освободили по амнистии, а спустя 4 года – реабилитировали. Юдина реабилитировали в августе 1953 года; через 10 месяцев он скончался от болезни сердца. Потеряв самого близкого человека, Голикова посвятила остаток жизни сохранению архива Юдина и публикации его работ. Впервые в истории советской медицины не маститый профессор, а безвестная прежде медицинская сестра стала редактором-составителем ученых трудов академика