locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 2 from 2010 yr. >

Discussion of political figures cannot be reduced to private opinions, to talk about personal traits of a person. A politician is not just a person but he is a certain configuration of forces, a creature of some social groups. A politician promulgates certain interests. The sphere is a turf where “players” act. There are no victims here. Therefore either a politician achieves a success or fails but anyway a politician gets involved in this or that play. The lesson derived from Putin’s tenure of power consists in understanding that politician Putin personifies opposite tendencies: longing for stabilization and dependence on regress. And there is no Putin’s blame in that. However it seems that Putin cannot pursue the old line forever. The choice Putin has to make nowadays is the choice between what is desirable and what is proper. And unless the choice is made in favor of what is proper, the desirable will extinguish the country slowly. This is the principal collision of our time.

On the Modern Problems of Teaching and Studying of the North Caucasus History

This is an article on the teaching and studying of the controversial problems of the North Caucasus history. The author argues that this branch of Russian historiography is going through severe crisis partly due to the demise of Marxist paradigm to be followed by ideological vacuum. He sees the way to overcome it in the post-modernist overarching approach to the issues sensitive to non-Russian peoples on the one hand, and in ridding of powerful myths firmly established in nationalistic-oriented consciousness, on the other, to develop broader vision of the past.

«The Scrag of the developed Socialism»

The article is devoted to M.A.Suslov, one of the leading politicians of the USSR. The author undertakes the first attempt to offer an answer to the question why this man war so attractive for the first leaders of the party and the state and why I.V.Stalin, N.S.Kruschev and L.I.Brezhnev who regarded such Suslov’s purely human traits as excessive formality of communication and the absolute lack of predisposition to backslapping and to foul language perhaps critically and even disdainfully nevertheless appreciated Suslov’s extensive and retentive memory, ability to grasp complicated international and ideological issues, diligence and efficiency, lack of exorbitant ambitions that brought to ruin carriers of many other colleagues in the top Soviet leadership. The article also deals with the issue to what extent the fame that Suslov was the embodiment of the mean aspects of the regime which fostered Suslov who tried his best in serving to the regime with no fear or reproach (this fame was ascribed to Suslov by the efforts of the liberal intellectuals) corresponds to the reality.

The Russian History within the Framework of History of Technologies. What it was, what it is and what it will be?

It is indisputable that the 21st century as well as the preceding century is the period of rapid transformations in the world of technologies. It turns out that position of every country in the world stage is increasingly depending on an extent to which a country succeeds in adjustment to generational change of machines and forms of labor organization. Historical traditions and mentality of population and of national elite find expressions in this breathtaking competition. Types of social and productive relationships of the past epochs that seem to be moribund reemerge first as menacing shadows and then acquire flesh and in its renewed forms they feel quite comfortable among very sophisticated devices the very ideas of which only fantasts or scientists who normally direct their regard to the future could grasp just a decade ago. The concluding article casts the total to the historian’s reflections on chances of Russia in the technological race and on the burden of the historical heritage that impedes progress of Russia in this race.

Splitted Memory: Russia and the World War 2

The Great Patriotic War of 1941−1945 is the single and the only event of the past memory of which is shared by all the country and plays the paramount role in reconstruction of the national identity after collapse of the USSR. The author investigates reasons that caused changes of attitudes toward the war and veterans in different periods of the Soviet and post-Soviet history. Two different memories have been traced to the war experience. The first memory is the recollections of the war tragedy, of liberation of not the Motherland but of the whole Europe from Nazism, memory of the utmost effort made for the sake of universal ideals of freedom. The other memory is connected with the revival of the state might and with creation of the cult of victory in the years of Brezhnev’s rule. This cult was designed as a new source of legitimization, a source which had to replace ideals of the October revolution that had run dry by that time. According to the author dissemination of the totalitarianism concept in the present day society (this concept combines Stalinism and Nazism) also distorts the memory of war. Yet, despite the state cult of victory which is still dominant the memory which carries ideals of freedom is alive in the present day Russia.

The Old Patriotism «Reoriented to New Russia»: Eurasian conception of P.N.Savitski

The article and the attached letters P.N.Savitski exchanged with G.P.Struve and P.P.Suvchinski cover the principal guidelines of Savitski’s Eurasian conception that Savitski not only kept for 55 years but, after change of his mind, consistently applied to Soviet Russia. The author exposes the atmosphere of emigration in the late 1950s and the early 1960s. Renowned persons (M.Tsvetaeva, N.S.Trubetskoi, L.P.Karsavin etc.) are mentioned in the recollections. In an amazing way Savitski succeeded in combining an admiration for the Soviet Russia’s achievements with the impregnable faith in the Russian people’s religious feeling.

People from Footnotes. «…Dear Grisha Tovstoles». An Addendum to the Eurasian Movement’s History

Grigori Nickolaevich Tovstoles (1887−1957) is a figure of the Russian emigrant community who is virtually unknown in the present day Russia. G. Tovstoles fought in the White army during the Civil war and he was one of the earliest participants of the Eurasian movement in emigration and a member of several Masonic lodges. In 1946 Tovstoles who lived at that time in France accepted the Soviet citizenship. In 1951 Tovstoles was detained by the USSR Ministry of State security in the territory of East Germany. The article for the first time introduces into the scientific turnover materials of investigation against Tovstoles (these materials are kept in the Russian Federation Federal Security Service' archive).

The Varangian and Slavs: the Eternal Dispute

The article is a response to L.S.Klein's book «The Varangian dispute. The history of confrontation and arguments of the parties» published in 2009 in Saint-Petersburg by ‘Eurasia‘ publishing house. «The Norsemen problem» or «The Vrangian issue» is the topic connected with the origins of the Russian statehood and the role Norsemen played in the process. Relevancy of the topic is obvious in the early 21st century too. Research made by L.S.Klein is considered to be an important contribution to history of the Ancient Rus studies.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 2 от 2010 г. >

Обсуждение политических фигур не может сводиться к частным мнениям, к разговору о личных качествах человека. Политик – это не только человек, но и определенная конфигурация сил, ставленник тех или иных общественных групп. Политик выражает определенные интересы. В этой области действуют «игроки». Здесь нет жертв. Поэтому политик или добивается, или не добивается успеха, но вполне сознательно ввязывается в ту или иную игру. Урок пребывания Путина у власти состоит в том, что этот политик олицетворяет противоположные тенденции: жажду стабилизации и зависимость от регресса. И в этом нет вины Путина. Но, видимо, он не может следовать старому курсу бесконечно. Выбор, который стоит перед сегодняшним Путиным, – это выбор между желаемым и должным. И пока выбор не будет сделан в пользу должного, желаемое будет медленно гасить страну. В этом состоит основная коллизия нашего времени.

О современных проблемах преподавания истории Северного Кавказа

Статья касается изучения спорных проблем истории Северного Кавказа и связанных с этим методиках преподавания истории. Автор утверждает, что эта ветвь российской историографии находится в стадии серьезного кризиса частично из-за отказа от марксистской парадигмы, который сопровождается идеологическим вакуумом. Он видит способ преодоления этого во всеобъемлющем подходе к проблемам, чувствительным для нероссийских народов, с одной стороны, и в избавлении от сильных мифов, закрепившихся в националистически ориентируемом сознании, с другой, а также в развитии более широкого видения прошлого.

«Кащей развитого социализма»

Статья посвящена одному из ведущих деятелей Советского Союза М.А.Суслову. В ней впервые даётся попытка ответить на вопрос, чем этот человек был привлекателен для первых лиц в партии и государстве и почему И.В.Сталин, Н.С.Хрущёв и Л.И.Брежнев, может быть критически и даже пренебрежительно относившиеся к таким его чисто человеческим качествам, как чрезмерная суховатость в общении и полное отсутствие готовности к панибратству и крепким выражениям, тем не менее высоко ценили его обширную и цепкую память, способность разбираться в сложных международных и идеологических вопросах, трудолюбие и исполнительность, отсутствие непомерных амбиций, сгубивших немало других коллег в высшем советском руководстве. В статье также идёт разговор о том, насколько соответствует действительности закрепившаяся за ним благодаря стараниям либеральной интеллигенции слава, будто именно в нём персонально воплощены все неприглядные режима, питомцем которого он был и которому пытался служить «без страх и упрёка».

История России в рамках истории технологий. Как было, как есть, а как будет?

XXI столетие, как и век предшествующий, бесспорно является временем стремительных изменений в мире технологий. Положение каждой страны на мировой арене все в большей степени оказывается в зависимости от того, насколько успешно она адаптируется к смене поколений машин и форм организации труда. В этом захватывающем соревновании проявляются исторические традиции, менталитет населения и национальной элиты. Казалось бы, отжившие формы социальных и производственных отношений прошлых эпох встают сначала в виде грозных призраков, а затем облекаются в плоть и в обновленном виде чувствуют себя вполне комфортно среди устройств, назначение которых еще десятилетие назад было понятно только фантастам или ученым, чей взгляд устремлен в будущее. Завершающая статья подводит итог размышления историка о шансах России в технологической гонке и о тяжести исторического наследия, мешающего этой гонке.

Расколотая память: Россия и война

Отечественная война 1941–1945 гг.– единственное событие прошлого, память о котором разделяется всей страной и играет первостепенную роль в реконструкции национальной идентичности после развала СССР. В статье рассматриваются причины, по которым отношение к памяти о войне и к фронтовикам менялось в различные периоды советской и постсоветской истории. К опыту войны восходят две разных памяти. Одна – это воспоминания о трагедии войны, об освобождении от фашизма не только своей страны, но и всей Европы – во имя универсальных идеалов свободы. Другая память связана с возрождением государственного могущества, с созданием в брежневские годы культа победы в качестве нового источника легитимации власти взамен исчерпавших себя идеалов Октябрьской революции. Распространение в современном обществе концепции тоталитаризма, объединяющей сталинизм и нацизм, по мнению автора, также деформирует память о войне. Однако, несмотря на господствующий и сейчас государственный культ победы, память, несущая идеалы свободы, жива в современной России.

Старый патриотизм, «переориентированный на новую Россию»: евразийство П.Н.Савицкого

В статье и последующей переписке П.Н.Савицкого с Г.П.Струве и П.П.Сувчинским освещаются основные положения евразийской концепции Савицкого, которые он не только сохранил на протяжении 55 лет, но, переориентировавшись, последовательно применял к советской России. Раскрывается атмосфера эмиграции конца 50-х – начала 60-х годов, в воспоминаниях упоминаются известные личности М.Цветаева, Н.С.Трубецкой, Л.П.Карсавин. Савицкому удается поразительным образом сочетать восторг перед достижениями советской России и непоколебимую веру в религиозность русского народа.

Люди из примечаний. «…Милый Гриша Товстолес». К истории «Евразийского движения»

Григорий Николаевич Товстолес (1887–1957) – практически неизвестный в современной России деятель Русского зарубежья. Он сражался в Белой армии в годы Гражданской войны, был одним из первых участников евразийского движения в эмиграции, состоял в ряде масонских лож. В 1946 г., проживая во Франции, принял советское гражданство, а в 1951 был арестован органами МГБ СССР на территории Восточной Германии. В данной статье впервые вводятся в научный оборот материалы его следственного дела, хранящиеся в Центральном архиве федеральной службы безопасности Российской Федерации.

Варяги и славяне: вечный спор

Работа является откликом на книгу Л.С.Клейна «Спор о варягах. История противостояния и аргументы сторон», опубликованную в 2009 г. в Санкт-Петербурге издательством «Евразия». «Норманнская проблема» или «варяжский вопрос» – это тема, связанная с началом русской государственности и роли в ней скандинавов. Актуальность этой проблематики очевидна и в начале XXI века. Исследование Л.С.Клейна рассматривается как важный вклад в историю изучения Древней Руси.