locale:
scientific journal
RUSSIA XXI

< Issue No 1 from 2003 yr. >

The present day Russian reality does not create a genuine series of events. What we are experiencing is waiting for what has already happened. And from this point of view the collapse of the USSR and of Communism should be considered to be the main event of 2002 as well as preceding ones. People in the West argue that Communism and Fascism are the first principal foes of the humankind now defeated by liberalism. This blatant lie was irrefutably and definitely rejected by such authorities as Churchill and Roosevelt who were absolutely sure that Fascism was defeated precisely by Communism already has bad repercussions for its authors. Having put the end to Communism (not by winning but by corrupting it) and made Communism equal to Fascism the Western civilization has lost its last chance, the ideological and mobilization resource necessary for struggle of the progressive humanism with the encroaching obscurantism. As regards Russia it has experienced the social hybridization, i. e., intertwining of the worst characteristics of the Soviet socialism with the worst characteristics of the criminal «presumable», «as if» capitalism. A terrible process has been launched. This process is capable to transform the Russian statehood into nothing. On the eve of the imminent conflicts of civilizations the greater part of the Russia media works for corruption of the army, the people, the society, the elite. It is to say that media works for the death and destruction of the country.
At the emerged turning point of epochs Russia experiences the crisis of meaning. Crisis of this type is one of the most dangerous for a social organism. This crisis finds its expressions in transitory nature of the suggested receipts of development, fragility of the social contract between the power and the governed, instability of the state’s position in the international community, and, finally, in lack of the elite «national corporation» which unites carriers of these meanings. The author considers preconditions for creation of the Russian system of strategic analysis and planning, describes modern systems and methods of forecasting, social and cultural foundations of the contemporary global situation. The author also expounds some considerations related to the current difficult external and internal situation of Russia as well as to Russia’s prospects for development. A great attention is devoted to phenomenon of the transnational elite’s new class («the fourth estate») which is genetically connected with intellectual production and, in particular, with formation of information and communication sphere. The strategic alliance of this social group with the mobile segment of the «third estate» predetermined the prevailing trends' character that, in their turn, are connected with formation of the geo-economic universe and making of the preventive global security system.

Paradoxes of the Russian Conservatism

As the Presidential election are approaching the more vigorously various political forces appeal to the conservative values and traditions. Doing that every political force invests the content advantageous to impart into the concept of conservatism. In every specific moment and in every specific country this concept acquires a new meaning. There are no «pure» or «impure» conservatives for the very criteria of conservatism are different and a former revolutionary and an subversive may, upon coming to power, turn into an guard and adherent of a strong state. The Russian conservatism is unlike its European and American parallels. It is paradoxical and unique. It is imbued with the national traditions but it tried and still tries, though timidly, to provide answers to challenges of the time. Though, at the first glance, the contemporary political situation seems to be stable in fact it is fraught with unpredictable developments. In this respect the present day situation is very similar to the «conservative stabilization» Russia experienced during Alexander III reign. That conservative stabilization carried in itself three revolutions that overthrew the dynasty. That is why the most pure conservatism (i.e., the unsophisticated preservation of the status quo) has no chance in Russia. The same is true in respect of conservatism calling for return into the «bright yesterday». The current fashion for conservatism, on one hand, has already provoked discussions among historians, sociologists and political scientists (and the fact is positive in itself) but, on the other hand, it made a mess of the very notion of conservatism. All these developments make us to ponder about correlation between the historical experience of use of the conservative ideology in Russia and problems of the contemporary conservatism.

The Condition of Population in the Central Asian Countries

The article deals with two principal problems: the first problem is dynamics of population growth and changes of ethnic-national structure of Central Asian countries and the second problem is the population’s general standards and conditions of living. Proceeding from massive statistical data including those provided by general censuses the author discovers the picture of drastic decrease of numbers and specific weight of the Slavic (European) population and increase of the so-called title (i. e., indigenous) population. Study of birth rates and fertility allows making a conclusion that all Central Asian countries will experience a further decrease of population growth in the nearest future. The real wages of workers and employees shrank two-fourfold during the deep economic crisis (in Tajikistan the decrease was even more pronounced). Thus now real wages and salaries do not exceed several dozens of dollars. It should be noted that in the course of the whole period of restoration, i. e., in the second half of 1990s real wages still remained to be 20−40% less (in Tajikistan they were two thirds less) than the pre-crisis maximum levels. Results of households' consumption studies and studies of retail trade turnover’s movements are presented. In general these results are similar to changes of real wages. The author considers dwelling conditions and the main components of the social infrastructure, the public health and education. Conditions of these components in general reflected dynamics of other standards of living though manifested a greater margin of safety. However the quality of education and medical care obviously deteriorated.

After Science: on Techniques of Humanitarian Ideologies

The article deals with techniques and fundamental philosophical assumptions of the contemporary studies of literature and cultural-historical concepts. Claiming the solution of the humanitarian knowledge’s principal issues representatives of subjectivist directions make ideological arguments their main weapon and thereby overcome, in their own fashion, positivist assumptions. However the humanitarian knowledge oriented towards ideology inadvertently turns out to be an ally of the post-modernist epistemology. Scholar’s «egoism» and consumerists super-tasks set against the collective experience of science are conquering the unoccupied intellectual space. And now personal opinion or personal faith of a scientist, freedom of his/her conscience means by far more than the source-aware conscience’s reality. Two polar approaches to the history of culture, the conservative and liberal-atheistic approaches are compared to each other. In both cases representatives of the respective concepts refer to their own positions as to an important fact of science and a theoretical model. Strangely enough, polarities complement each other: studies of literature that make the absolute of the immutable and studies of culture that assume the making without the subject of the process generate equally destructive and disorganizing effect on the modern humanitarian science. These extremities need not so much reconciliation as a dialectical and creative overcoming, a renewing synthesis.

«The Long Peace» in Europe: Monarchs' Alliance against Revolutions (1815−1853)

The article analyses both the objective and subjective factors accountable for «the long peace» in Europe from 1815 to 1853. Most important among them was not only the Vienna Settlement per se but also the ability of the Great Powers' rules to implement it. As author contends, the leading role in maintenance of European stability which was threatened by the social revolution and the Eastern question belonged, in the long run, to «Russian policemen» Alexander I and Nicholas I since it was Russia that obtained in the aftermath of the 1815 the best position, in terms of power politics, to curb extremely destructive developments on the international arena.

язык:
научный журнал
РОССИЯ XXI

< Выпуск № 1 от 2003 г. >

Современная российская действительность не создает настоящей событийности. То, что происходит у нас, есть ожидание уже случившегося. И с этой точки зрения главным событием 2002 г., как и предшествующих, следует считать крах СССР и крах коммунизма. На Западе утверждают, что коммунизм, как и фашизм, – два главных врага человечества, которые побеждены либерализмом. Эта ложь, которую бесспорно опровергают такие авторитеты, как Черчилль и Рузвельт, точно знавшие, что фашизм был разгромлен именно коммунизмом, уже "аукается ее авторам. Угробив коммунизм (растлив, но не победив) и приравняв его к фашизму, западная цивилизация потеряла свой последний шанс – необходимый для борьбы прогрессистского гуманизма с атакующим мракобесием идейно-мобилизационный ресурс. Главный ресурс в условиях конфликта цивилизаций, где силовое превосходство ничего не решает. Что же касается России, в ней произошла социальная гибридизация – сращивание худших черт советского социализма с худшими чертами криминального "будто бы капитализма". Запущен страшный процесс, который способен превратить российскую государственность в ничто. Большая часть СМИ в преддверии грядущих цивилизационных конфликтов работает на разложение армии, народа, общества, элиты, т.е. на смерть страны.

Глобальная трансформация и российский узел

Россия на обозначившемся переломе эпох переживает один из наиболее опасных для социального организма видов кризиса – кризис смысла. Что выражается в транзитности предлагаемых рецептов развития, непрочности социального контракта между властью и народом, неустойчивости положения государства в международном сообществе, наконец, в отсутствии «национальной корпорации» элит, объединяющей носителей этих смыслов. В статье анализируются предпосылки для создания российской системы стратегического анализа и планирования: описываются современные системы и методы прогнозирования будущего; социально-культурные основания современной глобальной ситуации; высказываются отдельные соображения, касающиеся нынешнего непростого внешнего и внутреннего положения России, а также перспектив ее развития. Особое внимание уделено феномену «нового класса» транснациональной элиты («четвертого сословия»), генетически связанного с интеллектуальным производством и формированием информационно-коммуникационной сферы, в частности. Стратегический союз этой социальной группы с мобильной частью «третьего сословия» предопределил характер доминирующих трендов, связанных с формированием геоэкономического универсума и становлением превентивной системы глобальной безопасности.
Чем ближе новые президентские выборы, тем активнее различные политические силы начинают апеллировать к консервативным ценностям и традициям, зачастую вкладывая в понятие "консерватизм" то содержание, которое им выгодно в данный момент. В каждую конкретную эпоху и в каждой конкретной стране это понятие наполняется новым смыслом. Нет «чистых» и «нечистых» консерваторов, поскольку сами критерии «консервативности» различны, и бывший революционер и ниспровергатель может, придя к власти, превратиться в охранителя и державника. Русский консерватизм не похож на европейский или американский. Он парадоксален и неповторим. Он впитал в себя национальные традиции и вместе с тем пытался и пытается (хотя и робко) ответить на вызовы времени. Хотя на первый взгляд сегодняшняя политическая ситуация кажется стабильной, на самом деле она таит в себе непредсказуемое развитие событий, подобно тому как Россия периода "консервативной стабилизации" Александра III уже несла в себе три революции, опрокинувшие династию. Поэтому консерватизм в чистом виде (т.е. просто сохранение существующего положения вещей) не имеет никаких шансов в России, как и консерватизм, зовущий вернуться в «светлое вчера». Сегодняшняя мода на консерватизм, с одной стороны, уже вызвала дискуссии в среде историков, социологов и политологов, что само по себе позитивно, но, с другой стороны превратило само понятие консерватизма в нечто неопределенно расплывчатое. Все это заставляет нас задуматься о том, как соотносится исторический опыт применения в России консервативной идеологии с проблемами современного консерватизма.

Положение населения в странах Центральной Азии

В статье анализируются две основные проблемы: динамика численности и этнонациональной структуры населения стран ЦА, а также его общий уровень и условия жизни. На основе массовых статистических материалов, в том числе всеобщих переписей и обследований жителей стран региона, раскрывается картина резкого сокращения численности и удельного веса славянского (европейского) населения и повышения доли титульного. Изучение динамики показателей рождаемости и фертильности позволяет сделать вывод о том, что в ближайшие годы произойдет дальнейшее снижение темпов роста численности населения во всех странах ЦА. В период глубокого экономического кризиса в 2–4 раза (а в Таджикистане – еще значительнее) снизилась реальная заработная плата рабочих и служащих, составляя не более нескольких десятков долларов. Даже и во второй половине 90-х годов, т.е. на протяжении восстановительного периода, она все еще оставалась на 20–40% (а в Таджикистане – даже на две трети) ниже максимального докризисного уровня. Представлены результаты изучения потребления домашними хозяйствами и движения розничного товарооборота, которое в целом сходно с изменением реальной заработной платы. Рассматриваются жилищные условия населения и основные элементы социальной инфраструктуры: здравоохранение и образование, положение которых в целом отражает динамику других составляющих уровня жизни, хотя и обнаруживает больший запас прочности. Однако качество образования и медицинского обслуживания населения в целом явно ухудшилось.

После науки: о приемах гуманитарной идеологии

Статья посвящена приемам и основополагающим мировоззренческим предпосылкам современных литературоведческих и культурно-исторических концепций. Претендуя на решение принципиальных вопросов гуманитарного знания, представители субъективистстких направлений делают своим основным оружием аргументы от идеологии и тем самым по-своему преодолевают установки позитивизма. Однако идеологически ориентированная гуманитаристика невольно оказывается союзницей постмодернистской эпистемологии. Исследовательский "эгоизм", потребительские сверхзадачи, противопоставленные коллективному опыту науки, завоевывают свободное интеллектуальное пространство. И теперь личное мнение или личная вера ученого, свобода его совести значат больше, чем реальность источникового сознания. Сравниваются два противоположных подхода к истории культуры, "консервативный" либерально-атеистический. И в первом и во втором случае авторы рассматриваемых концепций ссылаются на свою личную позицию как на важный научный факт и теоретическую модель. Странным образом противоположности дополняют друг друга: литературоведение, абсолютизирующее неизменное, и культурология, гипостазирующая становление без становящегося (процесс), оказывают в равной мере разрушительное и дезорганизующее воздействие на современную гуманитарную науку. Эти крайности нуждаются не столько в "примирении", сколько в диалектическом и творческом преодолении, обновляющем синтезе.

«Долгий мир» в Европе: союз монархов против революций (1815–1853 гг.)

В статье анализируются объективные и субъективные факторы, способствовавшие сохранению «долгого мира» в Европе в период с 1815 по 1853 г. Важное значение в данном случае имели не только решения Венского конгресса, но и умение правителей великих держав воплотить их в жизнь. Ведущая роль в поддержании европейской стабильности перед лицом двух главных угроз – революции и восточного вопроса – в конечном итоге принадлежала Александру I и Николаю I, ибо именно Россия после 1815 года являлась государством, обладавшим наибольшими возможностями для подавления деструктивных процессов в сфере международных отношений.